Unicorning: an Update

domenichinounicornpalfarnese

Old-school Unicorning.

This is mid-November, so you can’t actually expect that we’re going to write anything lengthy or thoughtful for our blog, can you?  No, of course not.

I’ve finished my first novel, A Tincture of Silver, and I think it turned out pretty well.  It’s interesting how, no matter how much you prepare for a book, you still discover more when you actually go to write it.  For example, I thought I knew one of my characters pretty well, but at the end of Chapter 9, she had to write a farewell letter to someone she had tricked.  The tone of it started pretty pleasant, actually, but then, at the end, I had the idea to add a nasty little burn as a postscript.  And suddenly I found I understood her a lot better.  What sort of person is she?  Well, she’s the sort of person who would write something like that, just to rub it in.

For the past few days, I’ve been doing character prompts for my second novel, When Uppance Comes.  It’ll be more of a comedy than the first one, I’m hoping.  It’s a sequel of sorts to both A Meager Education and Joint Command.  Here’s the summary of it I just wrote for my novel page on the NaNoWriMo website:

Selfish, conniving, and beautiful, Lisette comes to the royal court, determined to take her rightful place in society.  She schemes to win a place accompanying the queen on a vital diplomatic mission, but she’ll have to win the trust of the army officer vetting the candidates, who unfortunately is her old school roommate, and who knows Lisette all too well.  Meanwhile, an enemy spy infiltrates the court, thanks to the wandering eye of Lisette’s wayward husband.  They can’t all get what they want, but they might get exactly what they deserve.

S is doing very well, too.  She came into this weekend thinking she was about 6,000 words behind, but she’s going to finish ahead.  That’s pretty impressive, I think.  So huzzah for S!

J

Leave a Reply

