Packing for Camp

readyforcamp2

This is what happens when you’re not ready for camp.

It’s that time of year again. No, I’m not referring to the start of Daylight Savings Time and the loss of an hour’s sleep last night. Nor am I referring to the impending Vernal Equinox, which around here serves to divide the disgustingly wet and cold late Winter from the slightly less disgustingly wet and cold early Spring. Nor am I even referring to the most tragic consequence of Spring weather, namely yardwork.

No, I’m talking about Camp NaNoWriMo. As anyone who reads this blog regularly knows, NaNoWriMo is in November. But there are two sessions of “Camp NaNo,” which are in April and July. S and I usually do both. And so should you. If you haven’t gone over to the Camp NaNo website and signed up yet, you should do so right now. Seriously, go do it right now. I’ll wait. That’s what web browser tabs are for, after all.

My preparations have been going on for some time now. This is going to be a longer novel, probably between 100,000 and 130,000 words, and there are five POV characters, so it’s taking a while to get everything ready.

I started writing my outline in mid-February, and I started coming up with characters. Some of that was already done, though, because the novel I’ll be writing this April, Written in Sand, is a sequel to my novel from last April, The Last Bright Angel, and the story I wrote S for Christmas, Called to Account. It takes place about 50 years after The Last Bright Angel, but since our wizard characters live 2,000 years, it hasn’t been all that long for them.

Today I’m hoping to finish up my second pass through my outline, fleshing out the description of scenes, so that when I actually start writing, I’m never left staring at my outline, wondering, “How did I think that was going to work, exactly?” Then tomorrow or Tuesday I think I’ll start doing my character prompts. We’ve talked about these before, and one of the reasons I started preparing so early was that I wanted to leave enough time to do them. Only one of my five POV characters is someone I’ve written before, so I want a chance to get to know these people a little before I have to write from their perspective.

So if you haven’t started your Camp NaNo project yet, go do it, and then start planning!

J

Leave a Reply

