The Last Act

S and I are still off at Camp NaNoWriMo, and we’re having loads of fun.  She’s moving right along with revising The Queen’s Tower, and I’m well into Act III of my new novel, The Last Bright Angel.  I have 62 chapters planned, and I’m nearly done with chapter 54.  We’re hoping to get some more work done tonight, so I don’t have time to do a full post.  But since S posted her book cover, I thought I would post mine, too:

The Last Bright Angel Cover

I just put that together in GIMP in a few minutes.  The image in the middle is “The Angel of Death” by Victorian painter George Frederic Watts.  The arch around it is the central passage of the Arch of Constantine in Rome.

Incidentally, this is the second time I’ve used a painting of the angel of death on one of my book covers.  I’m sure that says something really morbid about me.  Or perhaps about the books I write.  For A Fatal Humor, I used “The Angel of Death” by Evelyn De Morgan:

A Fatal Humor Cover2

S also had pictures of the actor she “cast” as her heroine, so I figured it might be fun to post the people I have in mind when I’m writing about my four main POV characters:

Faustinus (our main hero) = Jake Gyllenhaal

Jake-jake-gyllenhaal-868567_1500_1860

Daryna (his antagonist) = Michelle Trachtenberg

1776991

Moira (our hero’s sidekick) = Sophie Turner

sophie-turner_0

Misha (the antagonist’s illicit lover) = Karl Urban (with blond hair, as in LOTR)

eomer_rotk_sped_006

Anyway, I’m sure we’ll have more updates about our books as we get closer to the end of the month.

J

Leave a Reply

