The Deep Breath Before the Plunge

It’s been a little quiet here on the blog this week for a couple reasons. One is personal life intrusions that are just boring to talk about. The other is NaNoWriMo prep. We were both ready to go at the beginning of the week, and J still is.  And I had a 11K word outline for my NaNo novel just sitting there waiting for me.  Then on Thursday morning I got this crazy idea that I absolutely needed to write a different novel, with only 8 days to prep it before Midnight November 1. (We do a great kickoff event with our local NaNo group, so it will literally be Midnight.)  I doubt I will have time to do the kind of outline J described for my entire novel, but there’s no way I’m going to try and write this sucker by the seat of my pants, so I’ve got to put in some time planning.  And needless to say (but I will anyway), I’ve recruited J to help me.

So, I’m sure we will have something tomorrow (we do our best to post every Sunday evening), but once NaNo starts, we might only be dropping in to give quick updates about how that’s going.  Oh, and I must add that I am terribly excited that J’s mother brought his old art/drafting desk for me to use!  I think 50K words will be handwritten much more comfortably at an angle.  Hopefully, there will be pictures of that to come.

But for now, off to work on character outlines.  Good luck to everyone doing NaNo!

S

UPDATE: The promised pics are at Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/jsmawdsley/posts/307013602819404

Leave a Reply

